Great win over Cloughbawn

In the game against Cloughbawn the Shelmaliers under 16 hurlers got off to a flying start when Brian Doyle goaled in the first 2 minutes.

Shelmaliers got off to a flying start when Brian Doyle goaled in the first 2 minutes and Benny Barron added a point from a free a minute later. This was swiftly followed by another goal from Ronan Kavanagh after a nice pass from Sean Walsh, a minute later. Points from Benny Barron (free), Brian Doyle, Alan Rossiter and Johnny Campbell followed without reply from Cloughbawn. Feargal Hynes got on the scoreboard with a well taken goal followed by a second goal from Ronan Kavanagh. Alan Rossiter added a point before Feargal Hynes goaled for the second time. Brain Doyle added another point to the score before Cloughbawn got on the board for the first time with a point. Feargal Hynes found the net for a third time in quick response and Brian Doyle added another point on the whistle of half time.
Three minutes after the resumption, Ronan Kavanagh goaled for the third time. There followed a scoreless period where Cloughbawn fought back hard and were rewarded with a goal for their efforts. Benny Barron replied with a goal three minutes later whilst the recently introduced Robbie Staples scored a well taken point a minute later. A further point from Brian Doyle and a fourth goal from Ronan Kavanagh completed the scoring for the game. Final Score Shemaliers 9-10 Cloughbawn 1-1 .

The Shels were strong in all areas today, the backs were solid, James Gordon worked hard to supply midfield and the forwards.  Benny Barron, Brian Doyle Alan Rossiter and Feargal Hynes all worked tirelessly and the forwards took every opportunity that came their way with Ronan Kavanagh in tremendous form.
This was a great start for the Shels and but for the efforts of the Cloughbawn goalkeeper the score could have been even higher for the home team.


Paraic O’Leary Shane Griffith  Brian Tobin  Noel Mythen Stuart Leacy James Gordon Kevin O’ Leary Benny Barron Alan Rossiter Sean Walsh Brian Doyle Feargal Hynes
Stephen Corrigan Ronan Kavanagh Johnny Campbell 

Subs all introduced in the second half.
Aidan Cash for Kevin O’Leary, Brian Murphy for Stephen Corrigan, Ian Kavanagh for Shane Griffith, Robbie Staples for Sean Walsh, Stephen Corrigan for Benny Barron (inj)